RAR, Rhodesian African Rifles:
Copyright © 2009 RLI.ORG.AU. All Rights Reserved.
The Rhodesian African Rifles (RAR) have a long and illustrious record, dating back to 1916, when the 1st Rhodesian Native Regiment was formed. This was then followed by the Matabeleland Native Regiment, and the 2nd Rhodesian Native Regiment, formed in 1917.

During 1918, the Rhodesia Native Regiment was formed by an amalgamation of the 1st and 2nd Regiments.

In 1919, this Regiment was disbanded, with some of the personnel forming the Askari Unit of the British South Africa Police (BSAP).

In 1940, during the early part of the second world war, the Askari Unit of the BSAP were formed into the new Rhodesian African Rifles. This was considered as the direct successor of the Rhodesia Native Regiment, which was confirmed in 1962, and the RAR inherited all that Regiments battle honours.

The first RAR Depot was opened during the summer of 1941 at Borrowdale Camp, Salisbury. This was closed in 1946, but re-opened again in 1954 when it moved to Llewellin Barracks in Bulawayo. In 1976, the Depot moved once again to Shaw Barracks in Balla Balla.

The RAR fought with distinction during the Rhodesian bush war and were a formidable force in repelling the incursions of the terrorists under the control of Mugabe and Nkomo.

The RAR was finally disbanded on the 31st December 1981, when its soldiers were integrated into the Zimbabwe National Army.
The Rhodesian Light Infantry Regimental
Assocation of Australasia